Mineral Water Martini

I’m going through a Yoga form of lent. Give up the things that you desire. Isn’t this the act we do before Easter? Give something up that we enjoy? I hardly ever do lent, but I dig this exercise. Give up something that you desire that way when you miss it, you can meditate on it and give thanks that you are becoming free of attachment to your desires and try to understand why you were attached in the first place.

Giving up alcohol for the next 30 days is among many of the things I’ve given up for the next 30 days as part of my new lifestyle experience.  Don’t worry…it makes sense to me.

Anyway I had a few friends over for dinner last Friday and they were game for the Vegan Lasagna but I really felt I had to explain myself on the whole no drinking thing.  The conversation went something like this.

Kendra: Let me pour you a glass of wine

Friends: Thanks, this is divine, aren’t you going to have a glass?

Kendra: Oh yes, don’t worry I WILL be having a glass I’m just starting off slow, I like drinking mineral water out of a martini glass, it taste better that way.

Friends:  Oh OK

In the beginning, I really felt the need to want to include myself in the wine drinking but as the night progressed my Mineral Water Martini planted itself as a REAL adult beverage and I never felt the need to switch over to wine.  Whew…I made it though my first trial.  I realized I do have attachments to drinking, its a social thing, a way to be included and part of the party.  But in reality its not really the alcohol, just a pretty glass.

Namaste

One response to “Mineral Water Martini

  1. “Creating your own reality.” Works for me :o)

Leave a Reply

